Super Sites

The Franklin County Solid Waste Management District encourages residents to dispose of household hazardous waste properly. The District operates several facilities in Franklin County where any District resident may bring common household hazardous waste items for disposal. The "Super Sites" are open year-round and are located in Colrain and Conway. These facilities are permitted to accept automotive products such as used motor oil, oil filters, transmission fluid, and anti-freeze; mercury-containing devices such as fluorescent lamps, button batteries, fever thermometers and thermostats; oil-based paints, thinners, lacquers, and other paint-related items; rechargeable nickel-cadmium batteries; and fluorescent lamp ballasts. Latex paint is non-hazardous and will not be accepted.

Small FEES ranging from 50¢ to $5 will be charged for all items except mercury fever thermometers, thermostats, button batteries, and rechargeable batteries, for which there is no charge.

If you have questions about the disposal of specific household hazardous products at these regional sites, please call the District office at (413) 772-2438 to determine if the items are accepted.

Site locations and hours are as follows:

Conway Transfer Station
Old Cricket Hill Road

First Saturday of every month
11 am - 2 pm

Colrain Transfer Station
Charlemont Road

Every Saturday
8 am - 4 pm

If you have hazardous products that are not listed above or if you do not wish to pay the fees, the District sponsors an annual Household Hazardous Waste Collection. This collection is free to District residents and takes almost every other type of hazardous product. Businesses may participate in this annual collection by paying for the disposal costs associated with their wastes.