event recycling bins

The Franklin County Solid Waste Management District is comprised of twenty-one member towns in western Massachusetts. The District's governing body is its Board of Representatives, which includes representatives from each member municipality. The District is staffed by an Executive Director, Program Director, and Administrative Assistant.

Each town pays an annual administrative assessment that covers 70% of the District's administrative operating expenses. The remainder of the budgeted expenses is paid through a fee-for-service program and grant income.

FCSWMD is required by Massachusetts law to designate a “Records Access Officer” (RAO). The RAO has a duty to:

  • coordinate our response to requests for access to public records;
  • assist individuals seeking public records in identifying the records requested;
  • assist the custodian of records in preserving public records; and
  • prepare guidelines that enable requesters to make informed requests.

Our RAO is FCSWMD Executive Director, Jan Ameen.

Jan Ameen, Executive Director

Amy Donovan, Program Director

Stephanie Meehleder, Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper