

## Franklin County Solid Waste Management District

50 Miles Street, Greenfield, MA 01301 • (413) 772-2438 • Fax: (413) 772-3786 www.franklincountywastedistrict.org • info@franklincountywastedistrict.org

## DISTRICT BOARD OF REPRESENTATIVES MEETING MINUTES September 18, 2019

**Representatives and Alternates Present:** Justin Lawrence – Bernardston; Andrea Donlon – Buckland; Jonathan Lagreze – Colrain; Lynn Rubinstein – Conway; Reenie Clancy – Deerfield; Pete Sanders – Erving; Arthur Cohen – Gill; Kara Leistyna – Heath; Annette Herda – Leverett; Chris Boutwell – Montague; Priscilla Curtis – Orange; Terry Narkewicz – Shelburne; Larry Kuttner – Whately

**Representatives Absent:** Marguerite Willis – Charlemont; MA Swedlund – Deerfield; Bob Root – Hawley; Bob MacEwen – Northfield; Tom Fydenkevez – Sunderland; Michael Mankowsky – Warwick; Doug Tanner – Wendell

**Others Present:** Jan Ameen – Executive Director; Amy Donovan – Program Director; Susan Conger – Interim Administrative Assistant

The meeting was held at 50 Miles Street, Greenfield. It was called to order at 7:04 p.m.

**I. Review and Accept Minutes:** A motion was made by Chris Boutwell and seconded by Terry Narkewicz to approve the minutes of the May 15, 2019 meeting. Passed with one abstention.

**II. Election of Officers:** Paper ballots were distributed. A motion was made by Terry Narkewicz and seconded by Kara Leistyna to elect the following slate of officers: Jonathan Lagreze – Chair; Chris Boutwell – Vice-Chair; M.A. Swedlund – Treasurer. They were unanimously elected. Once the District has hired an Administrative Assistant, that person will be proposed for the Clerk's position.

**III. Formation of Committees:** A motion was made by Jonathan Lagreze and seconded by Chris Boutwell that the following Board members comprise the *Personnel Committee*: Chris Boutwell, Arthur Cohen, Jonathan Lagreze, Kara Leistyna, Terry Narkewicz. Passed unanimously.

A motion was made by Kara Leistyna and seconded by Terry Narkewicz that the following Board members comprise the *Finance Committee*: Chris Boutwell, Arthur Cohen, Jonathan Lagreze, M.A. Swedlund. Passed unanimously.

**IV. Executive Director's Report:** The building that houses the District office is under a purchase & sale agreement with a closing date of November 1<sup>st</sup>. FCSWMD has placed a rental deposit on an office space connected to the Greenfield Recorder building. Negotiations are still underway on a Springfield MRF contract that will start in FY21. District towns will be receiving over \$90,000 in grants from the Sustainable Materials Recovery Program (SMRP). For more details, see the Executive Director's report.

**V. May 2019 Clean Sweep Report:** The District held its spring "Clean Sweep" (bulky waste) collection in May. Over 35 tons of waste was collected, and income exceeded expenses by about \$600. There are two upcoming collections: the annual Household Hazardous Waste Collection on Saturday, September 21, and the autumn Clean Sweep collection on Saturday, October 19.

**VI. Program Director's Report:** For the thirteenth year in a row, the District ran a successful recycling and composting program at the Franklin County Fair, diverting over 1.5 tons of food and paper waste from the landfill, and recycling or redeeming multiple truckloads of plastic, metal, and glass. The total volume of trash went down this year, even though attendance at the Fair was up. FCSWMD was honored to be named the Grand Marshal of the FC Fair parade! For more details, see the Program Director's report.

## VII. Town Reports / New Business / Schedule Next Meeting:

The next Board meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, November 20, 2019 at 6 p.m. (Note the new meeting time.)

The meeting adjourned at 8:40 p.m.

The following written materials were used at the meeting: -Executive Director's Report -Program Director's Report -Recycling Dividends Program report

-May 2019 Clean Sweep report