Town Specific Information
Reduce, Reuse and Buy Recycled
Hazardous Waste
Mercury Disposal
Brochures & Guides
School Resources
Frequently Asked Questions
Related Links



The Franklin County Solid Waste Management District is comprised of twenty-one member towns in western Massachusetts. The District's governing body is its Board of Representatives, which includes representatives from each member municipality. The District is staffed by an Executive Director, Program Director, and Administrative Assistant. Each town pays an annual administrative assessment that covers approximately 65% of the District's administrative operating expenses. The remainder of the budgeted expenses is paid through a fee-for-service program and grant income. The list of programs and services below is certainly not inclusive but is meant to represent the most common services provided by the District to its member towns. 

FCSWMD is required by Massachusetts law to designate a “Records Access Officer” (RAO). The RAO has a duty to:     
     -coordinate our response to requests for access to public records;
     -assist individuals seeking public records in identifying the records requested; 
     -assist the custodian of records in preserving public records; and
     -prepare guidelines that enable requesters to make informed requests.

Our RAO is FCSWMD Executive Director, Jan Ameen.

Jan Ameen, Executive Director
Amy Donovan, Program Director
Stephanie Meehleder, Administrative Assistant/Bookkeeper

Franklin County Solid Waste Management District
117 Main St., 2nd Floor
Greenfield, MA 01301
Tel: (413) 772-2438
MA Relay for the hearing impaired: 711 or 1-800-439-2370 (TTY/TDD)
Fax: (413) 772-3786
Staff email addresses 

This website is made possible through a grant from the 
USDA Rural Utilities Service.
FCSWMD is an equal opportunity provider.
Full Equal Opportunity Disclosure Statement.